HKICPA elects new President, Council

The Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants elected Tsai Wing Chung, Philip, as president, and Chiu Lai Kuen, Susanna and Keith Pogson, as vice presidents for 2011.


Tsai has served on the Institute’s council for six years and was elected vice president in 2010.  Chiu and Pogson joined the council in January 2004 and December 2005 respectively.


Tsai is a partner of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu.  Since joining the council, he has served on many committees, including chairing the Registration and Practising Committee, accountancy accreditation board and ethics committee, all three of which are important to the fundamental statutory business of the Institute.  He has also been involved in various other committees, accountability boards and advisory panels since 2005.


Chiu is a senior vice president of Li & Fung (Trading) Ltd. Pogson is a partner of Ernst & Young.


Newly elected but returning members to the Hong Kong Institute of CPAs’ council are Chan Kam Wing, Clement, Chow Siu Lui, Jack, Cho Lung Pui Lan, Stella, and Doug Oxley.  Cheng Chung Ching, Raymond, and Ho Chiu Ping, Dennis, are newly elected members.


For lay members, Catherine K.C. Leung, vice chairman, Asia and head of Hong Kong investment banking of J.P. Morgan Securities (Asia Pacific) Limited, and Ambrose Cheung Wing Sum, executive director of Lai Sun Development have been re-appointed by the government for a two-year term until 30 November and 16 December 2012 respectively. Two continuing government-appointed lay members are Edith Shih, company secretary of Hutchison Whampoa, and John C. Poon. They will carry on with the second year of their terms.


The council has the power to co-opt two members and these members will be announced in January.


The council is the governing body of the Hong Kong Institute of CPAs and sets policy carried out by the Institute. Under the Professional Accountants Ordinance, the Hong Kong Institute of CPAs council comprises a maximum of 23 people, including 14 elected members, the immediate past president of the Institute, two co-opted members, two ex-officio members (i.e. the Financial Secretary or his representative and the Director of Accounting Services or his representative) and four lay persons appointed by the SAR Chief Executive.


Suggested Articles

Some of you might have already been aware of the news that Questex—with the aim to focus on event business—will shut down permanently all media brands in Asia…

Some advice for transitioning into an advisory role

Global risks are intensifying but the collective will to tackle them appears to be lacking. Check out this report for areas of concern